About our church

Our Vision

At St. James, we will build divine people of purpose; developing them into champions of change for the Kingdom of God to win souls for Jesus Christ.

Our Mission

We will develop and enable people to grow into complete followers of Christ through the teaching of God’s Word, authentic worship and wholesome fellowship.

Our History

St. James Missionary Baptist Church is nestled in the heart of Fayetteville, AR. St. James has been telling its story since 1865. Its story began with Squire Jehagen. After he was freed from slavery, Jehagen became a Baptist preacher and later organized a church for Negroes. The name of the church comes from a man named James who gave the land on which the historic church sits today.

God anointed and sent strong leadership to lead, guide and direct St. James and without this leadership; we would not be celebrating 148 years. Over the course of the years we have been led by: Rev. Mahan, Rev. Wilson, Rev. Tugle and Rev. C.L. Netherland, Rev. J.W. Webb, Rev. Thomas, Rev. G.E. Wright, Rev. M.G. Edmondson, Rev. W.M. Murry, Rev. Chester A. Woods, Rev. Jeremiah L. Thompson, Rev. Tommy Moton, Rev. J.A. Hawkins Sr. and our current shepherd Pastor Curtiss P. Smith installed on April 28, 2007.

These men ordained ministers, deacons and appointed trustees. Baptist Training Union (BTU), Ushers (BTU) started with Rev. M.G. Edmondson through Rev. J.L.

Thompson (Ushers started with Rev. W.M. Murray. They also listened to the virtuous women in the church who led Sunday School and Mission.

The pastors, along with the leadership and St. James family, started spirit filled programs in order to ensure not only church growth but also the growth of the community. Programs consisted of Baptist Training Union, Ushers, Vacation Bible School, Mission, choirs for all ages, deaconess, Youth Programs and instituted scholarships to educate our youth such as the J Aaron Hawkins Memorial Assistance Fund. They established the Brotherhood Club to draw more men to Christ, the Emergency Outreach Program, Deacon’s Family Ministry and Senior’s Day.

In 1920 St. James’ membership was 40. Today there is a membership of over 1100. God has truly blessed St. James. Our church history is also built on the spiritual disciplines of prayer, worship, individual and corporate fasting, reading the Word daily, silence and solitude but most of all doing the will of God.

Our Beliefs

The Scriptures

We believe that the Bible is the inspired Word of God and is inerrant in the original writings. The Bible is the revealed Word of God; the ground and foundation from which all claims of truth are substantiated. Through the sovereign hand of God, the scriptures have been preserved and have supreme and final authority.

(2 Timothy 3:16-17; Hebrews 4:12; 2 Peter 1:20-21)


We believe that there is only one true and living God existing in three persons – Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Each is a distinct Person, but having the same nature, perfection and attributes.

(Genesis 1:1-3, 26; Matthew 3:16-17; 28:19; John 1:1,14; 10:30; 14:26; 15:26)

Jesus Christ

We believe that Jesus Christ is the Son of God; the only begotten by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, shed his blood on Calvary in our place, was buried, rose again and ascended to the right hand of the Father according to the scriptures.

(Luke 1:26-33; 22:20; 24:46)

Holy Spirit

We believe that the Holy Spirit is the third person of the Trinity, God and co-existent with the Father and Son. The Holy Spirit is the Chief Agent in the regeneration of the soul, convicts of sin, and comforts the believer. The Holy Spirit baptizes the believer into the body of Christ and is the giver of ALL spiritual gifts.

(Matthew 3:11; John 16:1-13; Acts 5:3-4; Ephesians 1:13-14; Titus 3:5; 1 Corinthians 12:1-11)


We believe that man is the direct creation of God – body, soul and spirit. Therefore, man is not in any way a result of evolution, but is created in God’s image. The sin and fall of Adam resulted in the fall of creation and humanity both spiritually and physically.

(Genesis 1:26-27; Romans 3:10; 5:12; 8:18-23)


We believe that all who, in faith, receive the Lord Jesus Christ as Savior are born again by the Holy Spirit and thus become the children of the living God. Salvation involves redemption, regeneration, sanctification and glorification.

(John 17:16-22; Romans 10:9-10; 1 Corinthians 6:19; 2 Corinthians 5:17; Colossians 1:13-14; 21-22)


We believe that God intends sexual intimacy to only occur between a man and a woman who are married to each other and the marriage ceremony of a man and woman is an act of Christian worship. We believe that God has commanded that no intimate sexual activity be engaged in outside of a marriage between a man and a woman.

(Genesis 2:22-24, Proverbs 5:18-19, Proverbs 12:4, Proverbs 18:22, Matthew 19:4-6, 1 Corinthians 7:1-16, Hebrews 13:4-7, Mark 10:6-9 )

Eternal Security

We believe that salvation is not only a gift from God but is sustained by Him as well. Salvation is wholly of the Lord, apart from the works of man. The Holy Spirit permanently indwells the true believer and seals him in salvation for eternity. Therefore, the believer shall be kept by the power of God through faith.

(John 3:16; 10:27-29; 14:16-17, 26; Ephesians 1:13; 2:8-9; Phillipians 1:6; 1 Peter 1:5; Jude 24-25)


Pastor Curtiss P. Smith-Senior Pastor

Pastor Curtiss P. Smith

Senior Pastor

Rev. Jacinda Smith-W.O.W Women's Ministry Leader

Rev. Jacinda Smith

First Lady/ Decor & Design Ministry Leader

Pastor Paul Davis

Pastor Paul Davis

Director of Church Operations

Sis. Danielle Williams

Chairperson Board of Trustees

Deacon Allen Morris

Chairman of Deacons

Rev. Angela Mosely-Monts- Director of Ministers and Ministry Alliance Liason

Rev. Angela Mosely-Monts

Director of Ministers and Ministry Alliance Liason

Sis. Mary Greene

Director Community Fellowships and Hospitality

Rev. Stephen Ivey

Pastor, Children & Youth

Deacon Sam Barnes- Director Christian Education

Deacon Sam Barnes

Director Pathways

Bro. Donell Cunningham

Director Media

Sis. Maranda Seawood- Director Music and Arts

Sis. Maranda Seawood

Director Music and Arts

Min. Monique Jones

Director of Outreach

Bro. Ryan Versey

Social Media Ministry Leader

Min. Adrienne Gaines-Gateway To Hope College Ministry Leader

Min. Adrienne Gaines

Gateway To Hope College Ministry Leader

Sis. Tina Floyd- S.P.L.A.S.H Singles Ministry Leader

Sis. Tina Floyd

Projection Ministry Leader

Sis. Edwina Hancock- L.E.G.E.N.D.S Senior Ministry leader

Sis. Edwina Hancock

L.E.G.E.N.D.S Senior Ministry

Min. Roosevelt McClendon-Transportation Ministry leader

Min. Roosevelt McClendon

Transportation Ministry Leader

Sis. Tara Carr- Social Media Ministry Leader

Sis. Tara Carr

Social Media Ministry Leader

Sis. Tracy Deffebaugh

God's Tikes Nursery Leader

Rev. Ornette Gaines

Iron Sharpens Iron Men's Ministry Leader

Sis. Tiffany Daniels

Sis. Tiffany Daniels

B.R.I.D.G.E Young Adults & Singles Ministry Leader


L.O.V.E Marriage Ministry Leaders

Sis. Charisa Burkhead

B.R.I.D.G.E Young Adults, Singles & Live Stream Video Ministry Leader

Sis. Beatrice Floyd

S.M.I.L.E Greeters Ministry Leader

Ashlei Washington

Sis. Ashlei Washington

Church Administrator

Sis. Synetra Morris

Women of Worship (WOW) Ministry Leader

Sis. Beverly Keown- Culinary Ministry Leader

Sis. Beverly Keown

Culinary Ministry Leader

Bro. Marvin Caston

Usher Ministry Leader

Min. Lisa Green

Liturgical Dance Ministry Leader

Deacon Allen & Sis. Melody Morris

New Member Ministry Leaders

Rev. Henry Smith, New Converts, Ministry Leader

Rev. Henry Smith

New Converts Ministry Leader

Sis. Stacee Lambey- Youth Development Director of Operations

Sis. Stacee Lambey

Youth Development Director of Operations